CodeLite Failed to locate gdb
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:06 am
- Contact:
CodeLite Failed to locate gdb
I cannot figure out why CodeLite cannot find gdb.exe event when I navigate to it via the debugger dialog.
When CodeLite is sitting at c:\usr\proj\CodeLite\CodeLite.exe, I get the error message.(version 2847)
If I execute from c:\user\programs\CodeLite\CodeLite.exe I do *not* get the message.(version 2785)
Windows XP SP2, CodeLite 2847
What am I missing here?
Path is
Thanks in advance
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: CodeLite Failed to locate gdb
Hi Pecan!
The message 'Failed to locate the ...' is coming from a source file named exelocator.cpp, which uses the 'which' command to locate an executabled. I suspect that you have another version of which.exe on your machine which produces a different output than the one codelite expects.
When you open a CMD.EXE and type 'which gdb' - what is the output that you receive?
Note: codelite installs a which.exe at the installation directory
Eran
The message 'Failed to locate the ...' is coming from a source file named exelocator.cpp, which uses the 'which' command to locate an executabled. I suspect that you have another version of which.exe on your machine which produces a different output than the one codelite expects.
When you open a CMD.EXE and type 'which gdb' - what is the output that you receive?
Note: codelite installs a which.exe at the installation directory
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread
-
- CodeLite Curious
- Posts: 8
- Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2009 5:06 am
- Contact:
Re: CodeLite Failed to locate gdb
That's it. I had which.exe version 2.4 in the path ahead of CodeLite which.exe version 2.16.eranif wrote:Hi Pecan!
The message 'Failed to locate the ...' is coming from a source file named exelocator.cpp, which uses the 'which' command to locate an executabled. I suspect that you have another version of which.exe on your machine which produces a different output than the one codelite expects.
When you open a CMD.EXE and type 'which gdb' - what is the output that you receive?
Note: codelite installs a which.exe at the installation directory
Eran
Code: Select all
C:\>which --version
GNU which v2.4, Copyright (C) 1999 Carlo Wood.
GNU which comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY;
This program is free software; your freedom to use, change
and distribute this program is covered by the GPL.
C:\>
C:\>
C:\>cd \user\Programs\CodeLite
C:\User\Programs\CodeLite>which --version
GNU which v2.16, Copyright (C) 1999 - 2003 Carlo Wood.
GNU which comes with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY;
This program is free software; your freedom to use, change
and distribute this program is protected by the GPL.
C:\User\Programs\CodeLite>cd \usr\mingw345\bin
C:\Usr\mingw345\bin>which gdb.exe
C:/Usr/mingw345/bin/gdb.exe
C:\Usr\mingw345\bin>cd \user\Programs\CodeLite
C:\User\Programs\CodeLite>which c:\usr\mingw345\bin\gdb.exe
c:/usr/mingw345/bin/gdb.exe
C:\User\Programs\CodeLite>cd \
C:\>which c:\usr\mingw345\bin\gdb.exe
which: no gdb.exe in (./c:\usr\mingw345\bin)
- eranif
- CodeLite Plugin
- Posts: 6375
- Joined: Wed Feb 06, 2008 9:29 pm
- Genuine User: Yes
- IDE Question: C++
- Contact:
Re: CodeLite Failed to locate gdb
Also, I added a fix to the 'execlocator.cpp' file so in case a full path is provided, it will only check that the file actually exists rather then using the WHICH command ( not committed yet )
Eran
Eran
Make sure you have read the HOW TO POST thread